Skip to main content

AIAA Statement on the Artemis II Crew


April 3, 2023 – Reston, Va. – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) issued the following statement from AIAA Executive Director Dan Dumbacher:

“Congratulations to Victor Glover, Jeremy Hansen, Christina Hammock Koch, and Reid Wiseman on being named the four explorers who comprise the crew of the Artemis II mission. You are inspiring the Artemis generation through this first crewed mission to the vicinity of the moon in more than 50 years. Congratulations to NASA and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) on this historic announcement.

We were thrilled to witness the engineering marvel of the successful Artemis I mission last year. The Artemis program – including the Space Launch System rocket, Orion spacecraft, and the ground systems needed to launch them – provides a fundamental new capability enabling us to retain and grow global cooperation and peace in space by establishing a sustainable presence on the moon in preparation for human exploration beyond Earth’s orbit. We look forward to the continued progress of the Artemis program by the NASA/industry team and the international partners to land the first woman and the first person of color on the lunar surface in the future.

We can’t wait to join Victor, Jeremy, Christina, and Reid as we go together for all humanity to the moon and back in 2024. They are shaping the future of aerospace!”

Media contact: Rebecca B. Gray,, 804-397-5270

About AIAA
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 91 countries, and 100 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit or follow AIAA on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, andInstagram.

2023 ASCEND Call for Content
Categories: News